Three-day diary of a Production Runner

23 Jul

The reason this is a very late post is because I have needed an extra to recover from my three days (Tues 19th-Thurs 21st July) of being a production runner. From the first video up you can hear what I got up to in Chellaston, the things I did and how the day went. One thing I need to mention is one of the camera-men helping out had worked on ‘The Only Way is Essex’ series, so that was a surprising thing to learn. I have to take my hat off to Kal’s mum for cooking lunch for us all, she made an awesome curry. Next time I fancy a curry I will be giving her a call. Oh, almost forgot to make a mention about Laryssa, looking after Ian Reddington’s watch, people you can get a career look after the stuff of the stars, if all doesn’t go the way you want it to.

Day Two I was totally wacked from running to various places, rangeing from Wilkinsons for Gaffer tape for blacking out Jet’s windows, to Tesco for drinks and peoples lunches. I think I sweated so much that I dropped 10lbs, so if you want to lose weight be a runner, I may even recommend this as a fitness regime. I’m claiming the rights to this idea, if it becomes a workout. One thng that surprised me was Kal telling me that I did a great job as a runner, with taking control and ordering people around, so I can put on my CV one of my skills is being a control freak.

Day Three, it felt like I’d only been a production runner for a day, but despite that the day was very hands on from the moment I got up. I made a trip to Tesco for buffet food for lunch, and for the rest of the day. Everyone, in particular Guy (cameraman), Julie (make-up artist) and Hamish (director/ project co-ordinator) appreciated the sausage rolls, some that they had for breakfast. The whole cast and crew were certainly grateful for the spread I put on later. The afternoon Amy, me, Sannah and james were outside on poles against the Jet building. Although we made the joke that we were ‘Pole-dancing Pirates’ and using the art on the walls to tell crazy stories, when we were trying to stop light from getting into the studio.

Go Pirates!

When we got inside we went crazy tidying up and although we were late getting out, it was a great three days I only hope I can get involved in more projects like this. One thing I and the other helpers did for the camera crew, before they left to go back to Manchester, was bag the remaining food up for the guys to eat on there way home, hope they enjoyed it!

Leave me your thoughts

