Varsity Blues are so yesterday, here come the Derby Braves

28 Oct

Despite the fog and rain settling on Derby’s pitch, last nights training session was brilliant. I have to admit I didn’t think I’d get all of the two hours training on my flip, cuz I still had last weeks footage, and no-one at the time had a computer with them(thankfully someone had a apple where all footage was put after training). Though before training started everyone had to run up mounts and back down in four lines. My first thought was thank god thats not me, I’d probably fall on my ass if I was asked to do that.

Once training began I was walking, or rather russelling around the pitch wearing waterproofs, filming the various drills and the only question I had to ask myself was ‘where do I start’. As you can see on my latest post that I took a few pics showing the drills too, and while I’m talking about American footbal I have to say the games on SKY are so much better than Channel 4 showing. As well as filming I ended up playing football (English) during this time with one of the coaches sons, and I’m surprised I was able to score a few goals. Unfortunatley, I dont’ have any pics of these antics, though I really should add some pics of myself to my blogs, so people can put a name to a face.

The best part of the evening was at long last getting footage of a scrimmage. And I must say that they are seriously full on, and no-one holds back, never stand in the way of one, thats my advice.

So now its 9-10 days to go until the Derby Braves play Staffordshre Stallions, and I can’t wait to get it all on film. Its fun watching American football on TV, but its so much better seeing it live.

Leave me your thoughts

