Bring out the war paint

7 Nov

I don’t mean make-up, I am of course referring to the paint one puts on when gearing up for a challenge. This challenge was the Derby Braves squaring off against the Staffordshire Stallions, in the very first seasoned match. Before heading to the pitch I met Adelie, who was looking for security who neededto turn on the flood lights and when I got there I thought OMG at the number of Stallions on the pitch and then the Derby Braves came onto the pitch, for training before the match.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Eventually the flood lights came on, the match started and boy it certainly started. From the word off Derby did not disappoint, both offensive and defensive teams were fantastic on the pitch and this was shown in the touchdowns, field goals and trys. The match started and boy it was very full on, and at one point during the game I was on the verge of being flattened like a pancake, until one of the coaches hanked me backwards, while I was filming. I have yet to check my flip for which shot that I was getting when that happened, though most of the shots were all close ups, as there was a camera up in one of the towers getting everything from wide angles. To show that I was flattened here is a picture of me, taken by Adelie, with me wrapped up as it turned cold. I know I look plain, but at least everyone can see what I look like.

Although bonfire night was yesterday, there were still fireworks going off, and it actualy got to the point where smoke from the fireworks started to travel across the pitch that at one point we all thought it was really heavy fog. It actually made me feel like that we were in a horror film, with special effects added to the setting.

The match ended with a score 49-6… to DERBY! So all I have to say that WELL DONE BRAVES. My first American Football match both filmed and watched in person rather than on the big screen was awesome, I got such an adrenaline rush during the whole, including when I got pulled backwards. I only hope that I have done the team and coaches justice by capturing the footage they need at the right angles. After the end game of shaking hands, congratulating those who really gave it their all and the team chant.

When I got the feeling back in my feet I headed to Barracuda, one of the bars in Derby and one I used t ogo into a lot, for the after game celebration of chilli, rice, tortilla, chips drinks and more American football on the big screens. Much of this event I capture of my flip as additional footage for the promo video I will be making soon, I just need apporval for my plan and then I can start. I am happy to say that I am soon gonna become a Derby Brave, as one of the coaches (John Stevenson) said he will get me a hoodie either Orange, Blue or White, so I’ve opted for a blue to be a Derby Blue. Mingled with a few of the players who wanted to see the footage I’d captured, and they will soon once its on an open web browser, my only worry is that it is the right stuff, and not wrong.

Overall, it was a brilliant night, Derby won, I saw my first American football match, learnt the guys like cookies and confectionary foods so I’ll have to put an apron on and bake them something near to Christmas and that the guys were happy I caught them on cameraman. All that remains is to wait till Thursday to get another training session before the next match against Nottingham Trent.

Leave me your thoughts

