My day at Pinewood Studios

29 Nov

I’ve been up since 4.30am, and I’m still buzzing. You may ask why did I get up at stuid o’clock and the answer this of course in the title of the post. I have spent the entire down in Buckinghamshire, attending at workshop and tour of the infamous Pinewood Studios. When I first set off I got caught in the rain, and thought it was going to be one of those days, however, it didn’t rain all day. Managed to find Pinewood Studios, though I was worried as to get there its a case of going past lots of houses before turning a corner and it being in front of you, so spontaneously. Although I was given directions for parking, I’m going to be honest and say it was a nightmare parking on site, after spending twenty minutes trying to find somewhere to go it was a case of parking off site, with the Pinewood logo pass displayed in the car.

Surprisingly, I was able to find the Boardroom, which was where the First Light workshop was being held, and the whole building itself was and is very grand. After having an ice-breaker exercise and being introduced to everyone else, the event began. Yen, who was the project overseers for the day from First Light gave us a really useful and interesting breakdown of the day and a lot of information that is the equivalent to a tree stump, so I have a lot of material to read and make notes from.

Later we had numerous guest speakers, one of which was Kimberley Richards, a HR officer at Pinewood Studios, who gave us a lot of tips and advice over questions asked in an interview as well as how to sell yourself during an interview. Once Kim’s talk had finished we were given the honour of having a tour of the site, and there were a lot of things I did not know that Pinewood Studios did or what facilities it offered people. We went passed lots of studios that were putting sets together, shooting scenes and seeing people heading off to hair and make-up. Following the tour we were introduced to Liana Stewart from Step2TV, and the one main thing I remember Liana stressing was using networking events and encounters to your advantage, which I am certainly doing with my blog and other means at my disposal.

Folowing Liana we had Simon Honey, Group Head of TV Ops speak to us about how he got into the TV and Film industry, and Dominique Oliver, Managing Director at Resources Development. One thing that surprised me about Dominique was her telling us that she started working in TV when she was 13. I only wish my school would have been understanding with things I wanted to do when I was younger, oh well, things may change for others.

To wrap the day up some of us were selected by Kim, to have our CV’s and Cover Letter’s looked over, where we all got feedback and I was taken aback by Kim saying that my Cover Letter was impressive, and that I only have to make some minor changes to my CV’s layout on the first page. So I have answers to questions I had come armed with, and I also have a long list of tasks and goals to complete as soon as I can.

One crucial factor that I heard a lot about and that I am hell-bent on doing is lots and lots of volunteering and work experience in both filming, and editing as I am very weak in that skilled department, but I have a clear and concise method now. One thing that struck me was how quickly the day went, and it was a very long and exhausting journey back up to the East Midlands. I must say it was really nice of Pinewood Studios to give us a goodie bag to take away, that has got a hat and keyring in it. I am so keeping these for life, and as you can see the pics to prove this. I will have more to share soon, so for know I’m going to sleep, because I am so tired, talk to everyone soon.

Leave me your thoughts

