Meeting Terry Bamber

7 Dec

Last week I e-mailed one of the media lecturers before I went down to Pinewood Studios, and she revealed something that at the time made me laugh. The funny that made me laugh was that a guest speaker would be coming to Derby uni, to give a lecture on the film industry, and this person had worked on various films, particularly the last 5 James Bond films, and his name is Terry Bamber.

I also decided to do a bit of a juggling act as well, because I’ve been asked to make a promo to go onto the Derby Braves website I had arranged with some of the Braves to meet to get some film footage, which consisted of interviews and just general stuff round the uni. I even got some footage of the Student Union president and the captain of the Braves, which was a bonus as everything he said along with the guys I interviewed was the type of footage I need for the promo. I have the plan the only tricky thing I have to figure out is getting the beginning and ending shots, but I’ll work it out.

After I got the footage I need for the moment it was a dash to the HEAP theatre to get ready for Terry Bamber to give his lecture, and while there were some technical issues with a DVD, which were later resolved, Terry began the session by telling us about how he got into the Film industry, and that Roger Moore’s favourite sandwich were Prawn. I’ll have to remember that if I ever meet him. When the DVD was set up Terry showed us a deleted/ extended scene from ‘Tomorrow Never Dies’, and it was a scene that showed Terry in an acting role as a waiter in a restaurant that Bond crashes into, before going back into the Thames near to the Dome. A lot of tips and career’s advice and suggestions were given to us before the lecture finished, and I have to say that Terry Bamber is as nice a pie and I also learned that his wife has worked on the Harry Potter films, pretty cool I think. Once the lecture finished some of the media students waited round to ask questions, and have a talk with Terry, something I also did along with passing on my business card and asking to forward me CV to him, and it certainly made my day when Terry said yes, it was ok to do that.

Once I was out of the theatre before leaving it was a quick hi and bye to my lecturers, but to mainly wish them a Happy Christmas too, and from there on it was a dash back to the city, as I’d stupidly left my umbrella in one of shops. Thankfully, it was still there so once I got it it was a dash for the train to get home, and reflecting on the day itself, and I must say it was great to go back to Derby as a student, depsite the fact that it was only for a day it was so worth it.

All that is left to say is Mr Bamber you are a true gentleman of the Film industry.

Leave me your thoughts

