To Be or Not To Be…

22 Feb

Well thats a question I and about 7 other people were asking ourselves last night, when at a Tuesday connections night at the Little Theatre. Before all this yesterday I spent my evening filming and interviewing a lady called Sasha for the film I am currently working on. I can happily say that it is coming together nicely, all I need is a few more cut away shots and some more male interviews then it will be ready to edit. If anyone has any ideas for the type of background music let me hear your suggestions.

Right well back to Tuesday night. I decided that although I have some TV and Film experience behind me, I am thinking about getting some theatre experience behind me. Although Stage Management/ crew is my main area of interest, during the tour, organised and given Karl, Bianca and Vincent, informed us us all that we couldget involved in any and every area. So I am won over by work shadowing in all areas as you get to learn so much. The tour started inside and from the stage itself we went roundthe whole are, even outside to where the costume hire shop is. We were given the chance to observe the actors rehearsing the plays ‘Carrie’s War’, ‘Sherlock Holmes’ and one a Shakespeare’s well-known pieces ‘Cymbeline’.

One thing I also learned was that when you join the Little theatre offers acting/ elocution lessons for free. So its now a case of deciding which area(s) I want to work in and which days/ nights I want to get involved in. So when I have decided I will let you all know. The only question I forgot to ask them is are they suspicious with Shakespeare’s play Macbeth in that they have to a ‘The Scottish Play’. That is something I can ask them later.

My memorable moments of the night are Karl (Stage Management Manager) asking me about my experience, and Bianca saying she thought my shoes were pretty cool and wanted a pair herself.

Leave me your thoughts

