A day to remember, in more ways than one

8 Mar

This will certainly be a day that I and most of the people of Leicester will certainly not forget quickly. This of course is all down to the Queen, The Duke of Edinburgh and Catherine the Duchess of Cambridge paying a royal visit to the city, as the first part of the Diamond Jubilee Tour. Making my way into the city, I can honestly sat that there were enough metal barriers to fortify a castle, and police officers, my gosh there were enough to fill two football stadiums. I don’t think a ghost would have escaped there attention or even gotten through the barriers.

The other reason to make a note on the day, ladies, is because of it being International Women’s Day, so I can say that the Queen and Catherine chose the right day to come to the East Midlands. prior to me seeing the Queen, the Duke and the Duchess I spent the bring at the Apple store, getting more of my film planned and onto the timeline, only a few more shots needed and then the whole thing can come together.

In addition to all my activities of the day, I have now signed up to be a volunteer at the Little Theatre, so I am waiting on my membership card to come through, and I can start to help out and learn new skills, one of which is learning how to make wigs in the costume department.

The first stop for the royal party was DeMontfort University, to attend a fashion show, meet students and staff and chose a fashion student to be the one to design the Duchess a pair of shoes. Other individuals in Leicester were given the honour of presenting the Queen and the Duke of Edinburgh gifts of their talents and creativity. One in particular was a picture of a Corgi, by a talented 10 year old girl, and I must say it was a wonderful drawing.

I then legged it to St martin’s Square to get footage of the crowds at the cathedral, and after getting shots of the car, I made my way to the Clock Tower.

Once there, I and half of the city’s population, waited for hours and hours for the royal party to arrive. Though whilst we waited we were certainly entertained by two guys dressed as grandmas on really big motor powered trolley bags, men on bikes and dances at the Clock Tower. The day was great, the only down side was being stuck next to a guy who kept twitching and shouting uncontrollably.

Soon the waiting was over: The Queen descended on the crowds in the big royal car, that was brown. The final part of the day ended with the mayor of the city welcoming the royal family to Leicester, and the Queen veiling a plaque that renamed what is St Nicholas Circle, which will now be known as Jubilee square.

After standing for nearly three hours when it came to leave I am gonna be honest and say I could not walk probably. I had to walk with my toes curled in when heading back to my car, and I can say I will certainly not forget the day, not for a very longtime, and the same goes for everyone else.

On a final note to mark the end of a wonderful day, God save the Queen, the Duchess and Happy Women’s Day to you all.

Leave me your thoughts

