Is there a doctor in the house?

30 Mar

No I am not sick if that is what you think from the title of my blog, though the focus of this is on my trip to Brimingham. After getting up at the crack of dawn, I took a long drive down the M1, M69 and M6 to head to where I need to be. I had been warned by others that the M6 is a road not to mess with, however I managed it ok, I guess its because I went so early and because it was a great morning. Even though it has been a while since I set foot in Birmingham, it made a change driving into the city, rather than catching a train in. The place is question I was heading to was Archibald House, where the BBC film the TV series ‘Doctors’. All of this came out of the blue yesterday when I received a phone call from one of the producers, who invited me to meet the team behind the series. It was a good thing as I mentioned before that I went earlier than the time I had arranged as I’d heard the motorway can be a nightmare. Despite my satnav constantly telling me to make a u-turn, I felt like I was literally going round the bend until I saw the street near to where I needed to be. I just pulled into one of the car parks and saw a police car with a BBC sign in it, and although I was over an hour early I decided to wait before playing the explorer. Luckily I saw someone who had just pulled up onto the site, and I asked him about where Archibald House was. He then asked me what it was in connection with and after mentioning that I was meant to be meeting one of the producers, the guy introduced himself as one of the dubbing mixers for the series ‘Doctors’, and showed me where I needed to go. So it really was a stroke of luck meeting someone who is part of the team.

I made my way to Archibald House and I was blown away by the beauty of the building, especially the wooden doors, it certainly reminded me of a gothic victorian house and the inside wow the inside was just as beautiful. After getting clearance from security, I was introduced to three really nice guys; Gareth, Hardey and Dan, who were the people who interviewed me. Surprisingly, I spent roughly 15-20mins with the guys, and the interview itself I feel went well, so I just have to wait until Easter has gone, and I can hopefully go back to Birmingham to do some work with Doctors, or any other programmes produced by BBC Birmingham.

So I can safely say that I can pass an interview as well as drive on the M1, M69 AND M6, though halfway heading back to the East Midlands my legs went to sleep and could have kissed the ground when I made it home mid-day because I could actually start walking round and getting the feeling back in them. Hopefully, something will happen after this latest holiday has passed, so in the meantime I will be doing loads of baking and bulking up my CV as much as I can.

The other good thing I need to mention is due to my work with vInspired, I received a certificate on Tuesday assessing my role throughout the night, what skills I had demonstrated and what others thought of me during the night. It played an important role when I went to Birmingham. After all of this I think I need to lay down. Keep checking and you will see more of what is going on.

2 Responses to “Is there a doctor in the house?”

  1. property to rent April 11, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    Pat yourself on the back for yet another first-class post.

    • kathryn2013 April 12, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

      Thanks for your message. Keep coming back to read more

Leave me your thoughts

