Return of the Shadow

27 Oct

Hi everyone

It has been a while since I posted anything, but I now have something to share. The title of this post refers back to when I was at ITV work shadowing one of the runners, Lesley. I was invited back by one of the planning managers based in Manchester to another work-shadow day at ITV. Luckily the sun shone though it still was really cold. Although I wasn’t needed to 1pm, I left to get up there in plenty of time to drop my case off at the hotel. Once there I met two of the runners I would be shadowing; Hanni and Emma. What I didn’t know till I got on site was that there was another person coming in to also shadow, Cara. Before she arrived I was given the official uniform for 3SIXTYMEDIA, as you may have guessed they’re the people behind Jeremy Kyle, and other programmes. Once kitted out we went ran putting signs up for audiences for a show that they would be sitting in on, as well as finding out if any members of staff needed refreshments and sourcing material for them.

When Cara and I were told to go on lunch, I caught a glimpse of some more of the cast members of Corrie and at one point I saw in the flesh and for real, Jeremy Kyle, which was a surprise as I didn’t think I would get the chance to.

Once lunch was over, we met two another runner, Ryan and lucy, and got started with the shadowing again. The work was basically doing what I did when at Pinewood Studios though the only difference was it was really cold where I was stationed. After an hour and a half in the cold I headed into the studios I hobbled back to the studio with my iceberg legs ready for the filming a new show. I cannot tell you what it is called or what it is about but I can tell you that the presenter is Paddy McGuinness. Well, I certainly enjoyed myself and was annoyed when 10pm rolled by and it was time to go. Whilst I was waiting for the audience to leave I met a spark by the name of Olly, who has given me some useful and insightful advice about getting experience within drama, whether it works in my favour, only time will tell.

Despite getting back to my hotel at an ok time, I still had to set my alarm for 4am to get back home and to get to work as they had kindly moved my hours so I could get back in time. So lets see if ITV will call on me again to run, or for anything else.

Next activity on the agenda is a trip to London and to meet the people by the most anticipate film that has recently come out. If you want to know more, come back Wednesday when I am back from the capital.

Leave me your thoughts

