It will be all underwired on the night

9 Nov

The reason for the title of this latest post is all to do with another networking event I attended, and was surprised that it was held at Broadway Cinema. It felt strange, as I had been there nearly a week ago, but at least I there ok this time round. The event I am referring to is the UnderWire Festival, which is tailored to solely encouraging and showcasing the talent and work of women in the film industry.

As this didn’t start till 6.30pm, I left at what I thought was in plenty of time and made it to the Broadway Cinema, and once there there was some delay with the event starting, as some people had been told it started at 6.30pm, and others 7pm. Once we were given the green light to go into screen 4, and we all ventured in, I saw the coolest cinema chairs I have ever seen and had the honour to sit in. The reason I was honoured was because they were designed by none other than the Midlands greatest fashion designer; Paul Smith. Paul Smith to me is one of the Midlands greatest assets and I think his praises need to be spoken here for not only fashion, but also for furniture, great man. So if anyone ever visits Nottingham please visit one of the numerous shops he has in Nottingham, as the fashion is amazing (and if you visit the Broadway cinema and go into screen 4 then you’ll have the chance to sit in a Paul Smith chair). We were introduced to the founders of the Underwire Film Festival and were shown a series of films that had been into the programme, some were good others bordered on the level of insanity, but were interesting.

After about an hour, it was a case of us having a break, with a free drink, and a chat with others there. I chatted with a few people and handed out business cards, before leaving to get back home, as I had a 6am start at work to next day. What surprised me was the number of guys that attended the event, as the whole thing was emphasising the work and trials faced by women in the working world of TV and Film.

With this in mind, I can’t wait till the 13th and 20th Nov, as I am off to two other networking events which I am so looking forward too. I just hope I make the right impression (as people would jokingly say I’m sorry I don’t do impressions) on those attending and those in the working world of TV and Film. Fingers crossed something helps from these social gatherings.

Leave me your thoughts

