Valuation of the day; what a Real Deal

29 Jan

I am sad that my placement with Creative England has come to an end, though I can say that I have enjoyed it. It was nice of Stephen and Elizabeth to take me for a leaving lunch, and it was the first time I got to try Falafel (I know of all the things to have off the menu, but as I had never tried it I thought why not).

As the saying goes when one door closes, another opens and this was certainly the case. Despite the door being open for a day I got the chance to work with a production company surprisingly they were filming a daytime episode in my home town. I thought at first that this was a twilight zone moment as I live in a town which has nothing to really offer, nor anything exciting. This was part of a programme made by RDF Television, and the clue is in the title. I made it to the location in plenty of time and met 6 other runners who had traveled from places like Manchester, York etc, and from what I could gather from everyone many of them were/ are novices to the role. We met the production assistants Jo and Emily, who gave us the tour of the place and we were all allocated our roles. I was assigned the front and inner part of the conference hall, where I was detailing with refreshments, answering questions and letting participants into the conference area in small amounts. The day went by so fast, and after we’d all had lunch at the various intervals, I and everyone rotated roles and mine was with one of the podium’s and that was a treat meeting one of the dealers and she was really sweet. The afternoon was one where I was problem solving for not only the other runners on an crisis, and with the actual crew RDF on a minor issue that I solved using my initiative. Eventually the day overall came to a quick end (or it rather felt like that) and it was a case of thanking Jo for letting me help out and if there are future productions in the Midlands to give me a buzz and I will be there like a shot. So it was a great opportunity under the hammer, well I am sold on this and fingers crossed they ask me back. At one point in the day, I got a chance to interact with the production crew, one of which was an electrician who had worked on ‘Doctors’, and other projects. Great day, great day.

2 Responses to “Valuation of the day; what a Real Deal”

  1. TBM February 4, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    I’m a huge fan of falafel—hope you enjoyed it

    • kathryn2013 February 4, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

      Thanks I did, I will have to have some the next chance I get. Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

Leave me your thoughts

