Runner Run, Run, Run

27 Feb

I am glad I have a moment to take a pew to write my latest media activity. I have spent the last two and half days in Birmingham working with a brilliant production team, on a well-known daytime drama. I cannot give too much away as that would be spoiling, but I can tell you what my experience was like. I was at the office for 7.30am to be on set for 8.30am and I admit working a 12hr shift really does take it out of you. Everyone was really welcoming to me during my first day work shadowing on a drama, and as many people have said drama is totally different to any other type of programme/ genre out there, and boy they were not wrong there. Everyone asked me the usual questions; where had I come from, was I at uni, what were my career ambitions, what other projects had I worked on etc.

The first day was over quick than you could say thats a wrap, and once I got back to my hotel room all I did was watch TV and eat cereal (I know its not the best gourmet meal, but I did not have the energy to eat something hot).

My second day was being out and about with the crew on four locations and it was cold. I felt sorry for the crew and actors out there, so I gave them some spare hand warmers to help ward off the coldness they all felt. I got talking to some of the extras and other members of the crew, who were praising me for my tea/ coffee/ snack providing skills, and just like yesterday it ended so fast. Once back at base, and packed away everyone thanked me for helping out; I got a hug from the director and 1st AD both wanted me to stay longer on the filming. The director and 1st AD both suggested to me that I find out if I could come back in the foreseeable future, to help out again, or on another production in Birmingham, in order to get more experience. So I did just that and now I await to see what happens. One thing I will remember from the final day was when I  was saying good-bye to the director, he wished me luck in my ventures and said that everything I was doing was right, and to keep going no matter what, so I won’t surrender and will persevere on.

My next opportunity is helping out on a music video for two days, I’ve never helped out on anything like that so lets see how that goes.

As a final note I want to say that the team I worked with were totally awesome and made me feel really welcome and it will be an experience I definitely won’t forget too quickly, you guys were the best.

Leave me your thoughts

