Paradise in the land of Pinewood Studios

18 Apr

I have just got back to the midlands, having spent the last two hours driving up the M25 having driven down it yesterday. Reason for this? Answer attending a networking event organised by an agency that I am registered with. The event was meant to be in January but as many of you know about the freaky weather we had at that time, it got cancelled. Now that was a bummer! However the sun shone the sky was clear and there were no accidents when I left at lunchtime.

Made it on site about two hours before the event kicked off, which worked in my favour; I decided to go and say ‘Hi’ to the security guys I met last year when working as an usher, and I must say they were very happy to see me. It was great having a catch up as they know everything that is going on on all the different sites. They also suggested I visit the mail room, which I did before heading to Heatherden Hall. I learned that that building was used as the Governors residency in the film ‘Carry On Up The Khyber’. Funny thought crossed my mind; we should all reenact the scene where they are all sitting down to dinner then we could all get ‘Plastered’.

When the event kicked off at 6pm, it was a case of doing what I’d done at previous events; walking up to people, talk and then give them a business card. It was really cool that I met up with some of the people I had seen at previous events and we had a great catch up, which made my day even better.

Though one woman who I met saw my CV and was excited at the fact that I had a degree in History, insisted on taking my business card and saying she wanted to hire me on a project that is currently in pre-production. One thing she said to me was that I should be looking for AD work and for Junior Researcher roles too as I have way too much experience as a runner now to still be one, so that’s a thought to consider.The person she was standing next to took my card too as she said she knows someone who is looking for runners.

Eventually we had to wrap up our conversations with everyone else and leave as 8.30pm came round so fast, all in all it was a great night. I hope I can go back to Pinewood for future events or for work fingers crossed. I hope the next posting I add to my site is one of interest and intriguing. Happy reading 🙂 x

Leave me your thoughts

