Carry on Pinewood

12 Jun

Hi guys

Now my feet aren’t throbbing anymore I can at last blog about my visit to Pinewood Studios. I make this my 4-5th time being there, it may get to the stage that I can drive there with my eyes shut (for all conscious drivers I would advise not do this). It was great surprising the security men I know down there again as the last time I saw them was in April when I went to a networking event organised by Creative England. The purpose of my visit was to have a meeting with one of my media contacts, as I have been corresponding with him for the past couple of months and as he put it he ‘wanted to put my name to a face’. Although I had met him back in 2011 when I attended a workshop day organised by First Light. So we went into one of the studio viewing rooms and was asked why Pinewood, what my career aspirations were and to hear a bit about Pinewood its History and there processes of hiring people. I learned from what was said that because a lot of projects work would be in soon that I would be kept in mind for ad hoc opportunities and potentially future runner vacancies once those already acting as runners had progressed with there career paths. Hopefully when the UK gets some more sunshine and more productions come in I will hear something to the effect of ‘We need you’. Although you may say Pinewood is a long way to go, it is definitely worth it, believe me.

Next on the agenda is meeting my friend Tindy and working on a film project with her and then working on one about a friend of mine who trekked for charity. I may not win and awards but the ideas interest me, and I love a challenge. Happy Reading.

Leave me your thoughts

