This is your Captain speaking, please return to your seats and prepare yourselves for filming

4 Jul

Hi guys

The clue is in the title of the post what I have been doing.

I am having a blast working on ‘Brothers’, will be sad when it come to an end, though between that I heard that there was a film company looking for extras for a film on aviation safety looking for extras and production runners. I contacted them through their website and forwarded my CV and wanted to hire for me for the two days they were in my hometown. This was both unexpected and an enormous surprise for me. The film crew also asked me to spread the word for in and around my hometown to be extras, and what better way to do this then via Facebook and Twitter (you gotta love the internet). On my first day I met several members of the cast and crew and decided to get started by helping Jo set up tea, coffee and food table. In addition to this, I did a few tasks in the office and drove to set a couple of times, and the first time I did it was a great surprise seeing so many planes. It was so cool going on a plane, and after meeting Tristan, the Director,  I even got a chance to go into the cockpit and had fun seeing how to fly a plane. Soon it was time to wrap first day and it had gone in the blink of an eye.

The next day it was all hands on deck as there were lots of extras to look after. Once they were all on site, it was a case of them all going to the location for filming, and I followed as I was going to be on the plane as a passenger during filming which was really cool. During the breaks between filming I got the chance to have a chat with some of the other extras who had come from all over to be involved. Soon the day came to an end, like yesterday, so quickly and it was that time to wrap so the crew could move onto the next location for filming. Overall, I have enjoyed my two days working with ‘Fact Not Fiction Films’, and working with a great team Emily Production manager, Giuseppe 2nd AD, Sarah Assistant Producer, Christianne 1st AD, Nick DOP,  Emma, Leah, Kat the actresses and Location Manager, Jo who did an awesome job with catering, Pete, Sam, Tristan the Director who like everyone else (Camera crew and rest of the team) made me feel very welcomed on set and during the two days. I hope I get to work with the team again in the foreseeable future.

Whilst filming was happening for the two days, I got the chance to see lots of cars mainly BMW s racing round the aerodrome track, and I thought how cool it would be if I could do that one day. Or it could be an idea for someones birthday/ Christmas gift.

At least I am starting to fulfill my New Years Resolution; to get experience/ work in films as I have more in TV than film, so I have more areas of experience and come more symmetrical.

I hope I have more great news to share with you all. Hope you all enjoy my posts. I hope I get to work with the team again on future productions.

Leave me your thoughts

