An ‘Outland’ experience

8 Jul

Hi Guys,

In addition to one film I am helping out on, I am also helping out on another, this one is called ‘Outland’. Its a local low budget film, that is produced and directed by Jonathan Lee Millward. The film itself without giving too much away is on the lines of ‘The Hobbit’/ ‘Lord of the Rings’. Initially I and the rest of the team thought the temperature on the day would be average. Yesterday we were filming at a castle and country park, which was full of people coming to a county fair event. Oh, no we had a massive heatwave, of say 30C (I wasn’t complaining about it as the UK has had some pretty disappointing weather over what is SUPPOSE to be Sumer). At one point during filming I had to take my shirt off (don’t worry I had a vest on underneath). Most of today was rehearsal and filming of one scene at various angles, which was pretty cool. Prior to that Martin, the actor for the day was in costume and make-up and it took a while to get everything done and on him by the make-up costume team, especially putting in the contact lenses that made his eyes go yellow. Now that, after seeing it done was awesome. During this time I acted as one of the runners as well as helping the camera people focus their wide angel shots by filling in for Martin during rehearsals, and taking over the logging of shoots. I even got to play with the clapper board (I wonder if that makes me a AD?). As part of the first day I managed to get some happy snappy shots of the team, and some video content of our time in the woods of the park at Elvaston Castle, though I have decided if I ever win the lottery I will either buy or build a castle.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Eventually it was time to call it a day, well for me it was, as I had a BBQ to help put together and that was one of the highlights enjoying Smokey Texan Chicken. Although the next film date for this project is Saturday I cannot make it, though I have more dates for filming with Darren and helping finish off ‘Brothers’. I have heard from a few people and applied for other opportunities for work and one of which I need to chase up Monday. If you wish to know more about the film feel free to check the directors page Jonathan Lee Millward https://www.facebook.com/jonathan.l.millward?fref=ts or search for Outland via Google.

2 Responses to “An ‘Outland’ experience”

  1. 水着 かわいい September 17, 2013 at 5:52 am #

    coach 銀座

    • kathryn2013 September 26, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

      Hi there

      Thanks for your comments, what do you mean by the bit after coach?

Leave me your thoughts

