In good company of Mr. Bloom

15 Aug

Hi Guys

News to share and lots of it. One thing I can certainly say is true in the world of media its not what you know but who you know, and here it is. A friend of mine who works at BBC MediaCity contacted over a week ago (was week Thurs 25th- Sun 29th July) about an opportunity with BBC Learning, as a runner with ‘Mr.Bloom and Friends Big Day Out Roadshow’. Although the event ran for three days, I did four with helping set up the site, and it was an awesome time.

My first day I met Zoe, the location manager and she made me feel like a member of the team. My responsibilities that day were helping decorate the site with bunting and there was lots of it. Later during the day I got to meet the rest of the BBC production crew; Moray, Yvonne,Morgan, Alex, Amy, Anna and whilst they got set up on site I was given the task of sourcing vegetables for the show tomorrow, getting crates of bananas for making smoothies, cups for pens and pencils and collecting the Bloom talent from the train station, and taking then to their hotel. Soon the day came to an end and it was a case of having an early night as I knew what would be in store for the next day.

At the site bright and early to meet another runner Adam and other members of the team, ready for the arrival and children and their parents. It was so cool that i and other volunteers got to wear BBC aprons Red for us, and Green for BBC staff. First day involved collecting the Bloom team and bringing them to the site (oh, almost forgot to mention I got the chance to learn how to drive a hire car, and it only took two minutes to learn on the Thursday afternoon). sourcing supplies and going shopping for lunches, helping out in the gazebos with some of the activities for the children and parents to participate in. In addition, I drove talent, crew and Bloom talent to the station when it was the last day. Each day always came to an end so fast, it always happens when you enjoy yourself.

During my time with the BBC crew, I was made to feel like a member of the team, even though it was for a short time. Each one of them always asked was I O.K and keep checking that everything was running smoothly. I admit that when the fourth and final day came to an end and it was time to take the crew to the station, I was sad but happy that they all got a chance to have a break from work, before heading to the next location. The days were made even better with the hot and humid weather (although on the final day it rained twice but was still a nice day all the same). I hope I get another chance to work with BBC, or with the crew I worked with as they were all great people to work with. So I say thank you Zoe, Yvonne, Moray, morgan, Sian, Anna, Alex, Amy, Kirsty, Vicky, Adam, Roy and other BBC Crew members thank you for letting me part of something great. I hope you come back to the Midlands next year, or in the foreseeable future.

On that note I will have more media news to share either tomorrow or in the next few days/ weeks. Until them Ciao.

Leave me your thoughts

