Runner for Notts County

18 Oct
What a day I have had. I got a call from a locations manager asking if I was free tomorrow (Friday) to help film a Sky sports promo. I sent my CV over and in the space of 5 mins I got an email saying ‘you’ve got the job’. Pure and simple.

So I was up at 4am getting ready to get to Notts County Football grounds as I didn’t know what the roads would be like (they were covered in fog), and although I got stuck behind a tractor part of the way, I made it to the ground before 7am. Once there, I met the other runner Tristan, and the gates were open, the rest of the crew began to arrive. I introduced myself to Nick the guy who gave me the job for the day, the sparks team Bruce, Frank, Marco the camera crew Carl, Carl and because there were 2 of them I called one Carl 1 and the other of Carl 2 and of course Karl. I then met Aaron, Paul, Nigel, Becki, Jon, Stuart, Mark, Tony the prop man and the visual department, and once everyone was on site I got to work doing the usual tasks of a runner. One thing I really appreciated was the crew were really friendly and made me feel like a part of team (even though it was only for a day). I also appreciated Nick spending part of the day talking to me and giving lots of great advice and tips for work and progressing with my career goal that I gave him one of my business cards (I did the same with other members of the team).  I have been dragging the post out that I haven’t even said what the work was;  Sky Sports promo for an upcoming event. One thing I will confess: it was the first time I have set foot in a football stadium, and I worked so much today that I made up for the missed gym session on Wednesday. I really enjoyed the day and everyone Nick Aaron, Paul, Becky, Paul, Carl 1, Carl 2, Karl, Nigel, Jon, Stuart, Bruce, Marco, Frank, Tony, Becki, Mark were all brilliant people to work with, they all ROCK!

As I have said before I always find time goes by so fast when I am involved in production work, and was sad that the day came to end but all I can say that it was a blast. I said my goodbyes to the crew and wished them all safe journeys home to whether their destinations were. I nearly forgot to mention how great the stadium staff were giving us cups with tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the bases (the tea had powdered milk at the bottom, the coffee had coffee and powdered milk and the hot chocolate well you can guess what that had).

I have other productions that are coming up and can’t wait to get started on them, well I have thrown the jobs in the air and I just wait to see which one falls down first.

Leave me your thoughts

