A series of unexpected events

22 Oct

I had a surprise phone call last night inviting me to an interview at a production company in Leeds. My initial thought was to drive up to, but because there had been an accident on the route I was going to take I decided on the train. I had my route planned only to find out when I got to the ticket office that my tickets would not be valid. So I went via a different course, and had the greatest pleasure telling some guy who was smoking that this was a non-smoking station. ‘Oh, I didn’t know that’, to which I said ‘Well, there is a sign next to you saying no smoking’. I sometimes worry about the intellect of some people.

I have also come to the conclusion that CrossCountry are the worst rail line ever; there trains are irregular, the prices are ridiculous and whenever I and others travel on them you feel like a sardine. I think that these fat cats that hike the prices up on essentials should spent a day, or even better a month surviving on a minimum wage and see what others struggle.

Made it to Leeds o.k and found the studio without any problems, worked to my advantage as I arrived earlier than my scheduled time. Once I had been buzzed in I walked up the stairs and saw the whole of fame for programmes that have been made in the north of England. I met Dan and the other ADs working in the office, and after showing Dan my CV and answering and asking all the questions I could think of my interview was over (I have learned that if an interview last between 20-30 mins) then that is a good sign.

As I had finished earlier than expected, I caught a East Coast train and they are by far the best train service; the staff are friendly, the carriages are clean, bright, spacious and there is plenty of space to put your luggage.

All I can do is wait and see if I am successful.

Leave me your thoughts

