Superhero in the Studio with SuperStars

5 Feb

What a great weekend, well Saturday I had (beats standing at a checking and being a robot!). What did I do you may ask the answer Media work of course. I got up really early to head out to a film studio in Nottingham called Giltbrook a place that I have been and worked at before (post on TRISTAR day). My role for the day was working as a runner at the studio with a company that had come all the way from London; Superhero Screen.

I arrived at 7.30am, even though the call time was 8am it was to get started with everything that needed doing in prep. Very soon the crew arrived and one of them I remembered Amy Nicolson, an Art Department supervisor who I’d worked with before, so it was great to work on another project and get to have a catch-up. Once equipmet had been set up, the props arrived and the 10 children who were going to be appearing in the project arrived from Lincoln, filming commenced. Shortly after we were greeted with Lillie, the dog who would be making her debut appearance in the afternoon with the children. We all kept Lillie entertained with treats; biscuits and cakes before she went onto set at 3.30pm. Whilst helping to look after the studios special guests, I also had a chat with the chaperones to the 10 children, and heard about the various productions and other media activities they had all been involved in and what was coming up for them later in the year. One rising star I heard about was Samuel Mckrone who I was surprised to hear had recently featured in ‘The Invisible Woman’ (a film directed and starring Ralph Fiennes), so I and others will have to keep their eyes out for him.

Then at lunchtime a well-known famous person local to Nottingham arrived to be filmed for her role; Su Pollard and what a truly wonderful person she is. She was full of energy and enthusiasum from the word go and after getting her a cup of tea she was straight into make-up. It was great to have a chat with her, and with the children involved in the filming. Su shared tales of her past work in the media industry and told us about her time involved in the Christmas pant with David Hasselhoff (who I hear is a legend in Germany). Soon those sad words were uttered; ‘That’s a wrap’,and with any and all media activities I am involved in the time always goes by so fast , there should a law that prevents this from happening as this never happens when I am standing at a checkout in a supermarket. I thanked Tom, Malcolm, Ken and Dom and all the other members of the team at Superhero Screen for having me on board with the filming, and that I had had a blast. I hope to work with Superhero Screen again as they are a really great team to work with, though my next opportunity is helping out on a music video at the same studio Giltbrook Studios.

 

If you have a moment check out Giltbrook Studios and see what you think

http://new.giltbrookstudios.co.uk/

 

 

Leave me your thoughts

