Journey to the centre of ‘The Journeyman’

16 Feb

What a Valentine’s Day, despite the constant downpour of rain and weather befitting that in a natural disaster film. This didn’t stop me from going to Derby to help out on a local film of a friend of mine. The scenes that were being captured was that in a boxing ring/ gym scene. I was surprised by the fact that I got there without any delays on the roads, and after meeting everyone else we took the equipment in and set everything up. One thing that was very important to do; make the T & C’s for everyone. Once everything was set up we were greeted by Andy Potter from BBC Radio Derby who spoke to Lloyd and some of the other actors featuring in the film. I did get a chance to speak to Andy who gave me his contact details and offering me the chance to go to Radio Derby to work shadow, which I am looking into accepting the offer to do.

One thing I was responsible for was using the clapper board, and marking the shots for each scene, and then the best words were shouted ‘Action!’. Luckily the sound wasn’t affected by the rain hammering the roof of the gym, though the rain would have been better to use as imitation sweat rather than a spray bottle. Eventually the scenes were shot and was time to go, as far as I am aware there will be feature film dates in the next two months and hopefully I can get involved in with that too.

So it was nice to do something productive to do something different on Valentines Day, though one thing that I am trying to figure out is the Valentine Day card I received. I have no idea who so there is some mystery that is surrounding me at the moment, that and waiting for film dates for another production I am hoping to get involved in the final week of February. So these are my upcoming journeys and I look forward to completing them, though I look forward to going to BBC Radio Derby soon too.

Leave me your thoughts

