Filming in ‘The Cabin’

25 Feb

Normally I am not filming on a Sunday, but this weekend was certainly different. i was heading out to Derby to help Darren (a director I had worked with on ‘Brothers’) who has a new production, a horror move. So it was a case of travelling out to a secluded area where there were fields, bridges and of course a pub! and on the site where the pub was were a selection of wooden cabins. I took one look at the cabins and thought gosh we are doing a remark of ‘Friday 13th’ the british way.

Once on site and seeing everyone in the cabin, prepping began with the actors in make-up and everyone going through scenes and scripts for filming. I got chatting to the actresses and learned they had all come from all corners of the UK; Wakefield, Surrey, Slough and Southampton. I took on my role that I did on the last film; Sound Recordist, and it was great having a catch up with everyone about what we have all been doing since the Summer last year.

We had to wait a few hours for darkness to film the rest of the scenes, one point I had to crawl into the back of a car to record the sound for a scene, and I ended being in the car for 40mins partially because they all forgot I was in the car (this was captured by Connor on his camera, lol). Eventually it was wrap time and we all left, one thing I will say was the cabins were really nice and if I want to at some point have a break and escape the hustle and bustle of a city of have some me time then that is where I will probably go. So Derby today, Nottingham tomorrow where I am helping out prepping a set of a gothic horror for this week and thereafter more work to come.

Leave me your thoughts

