Beyond the call of duty… in more ways than one

7 Mar

To those that follow me and those that stumble onto my blog, hello.

I haven’t had the chance to write anything for the past couple of days because I have been all over the place. I have been working on two short indie feature films; one was filmed in a cabin out in Derby and I admit if someone wanted to do a remake of ‘Friday the 13th’ in Britain, then thats the best place to go. I was the boom operator on that shoot and I laughed at one point, and you may too at this; there was a car scene where audio had to be recorded of the person in the car, so I had to go into the back of the car and hide myself. I was in the car for 40mins before the crew realised that I was still there; they had all forgotten me. Of course we laughed about it.

The next film I was involved in was being shot at Newstead Abbey and I must say what a beautiful place. Although in my first day of helping the crew DIY one of the houses I couldn’t find any parking, I did eventually. The shot was for 6 days and the first 3 days devoted to cleaning and painting a house for key scenes. When filming commenced on the fourth day I was one of the runners to be selected to go down to the lake to shot some really cool scenes. We were there for 5 hours and whilst there I learned from some of the professional canoeists who were helping with the scenes that Roger Moore once lived in the area. One thing that shocked me was the number of properties around Newstead Abbey. I also thought it was cool that I saw a Fox when on site. It was a great experience and I can’t wait to see the trailer for the film.

Following that I went to a school to help a production crew film a corporate film for school supplies that are tested out by children. One thing that made me sad was the fact that the day went by so fast. I laughed during the day when the director wanted to borrow my hoodie for the actress playing a teacher. Whilst I was taking off my hoodie I jokingly said that they could have my long sleeve top (which was cream with red strips). Everyone looked at each other and the look signalled a yes please.
So it is the second production I have worked on where a production has had the shirt/ top off my back. It was a great day and I have more still come ranging from networking events to upcoming film project. When there is more more will be revolted.

I just have to say that I have loved working with the different production crews and hope to work with them again, soon.

Leave me your thoughts

