Trains, Strangers and a whole lotta networking

13 Mar

Hi fellow mediadreamz readers and those who follow me (to the many that do, thank you, it means a lot).

I have a great day heading to Birmingham for an event at the Library of Birmingham. As the event started at 11am I caught an early train, as I had no idea where I was going, funny thing me doing that as I ended up running into a customer I serve at Tesco and we had a good old catch-up as well as meeting a friend and colleague of his named Chrissy. Before going to find the venue I did my good deed for the day; took a lady to the Mailbox as she didn’t know where it was so I had a lot of time to spare. I then helped a guy find Queensway in Birmingham (if all fails in the TV/ Film industry, I can be a tour guide).

Got the the library in plenty of time and saw a lot of familiar faces and people which I had a great catch-up with. Spent the first hour meeting people and handing out loads of business cards before going to an induction session opened by a guy by the name of James and after being introduced to the guest speakers for the days events. Before everything started it was lunch and networking, though that was a let down of the day, a few trays of finger food and hardly anyone got anything to try. During the lunch break I got to talk to the guests who were attending, and it was during this time that I got a marriage proposal. How and why you may ask, explanation; two guys were looking for where the food was, only thing available was spicy asian cheese tarts, I noticed a tray of satay chicken and mentioned this. I was praised for my observation skills and one of the guys said ‘will you marry me, I won’t take no for an answer’. (Though I later learned both of these guys were both guest speakers and are writers in drama and comedy, guess which genre my proposal came from). It remained our private joke throughout the day.

First session I went to dealt ‘Skills for Success-Keeping your edge in a competitive changing environment’ with Creative Skills set talking about traineeships, opportunities and funding available for training up and down the UK. Second session ‘Film Finance Workshop’ was a Creative England talk where we were informed of film funding and grands to finance productions in and outside of Birmingham. The Third and final session ‘Getting and sustaining a career in the media’. It was here that I received a big shock seeing the two guys who had spoken to me who I later learned were William Gallagher who is famous for radio Doctor Who, ITV’s ‘Crossroads’ and a wide range of other drama programmes. The other guy was Keith R Lindsay, the man who proposed, who is known for working on ‘Birds of a feather’, ‘The green green grass’ which was co-written with John O’Sullivan a legend in himself. Another writer on the panel was Claire Bennett, a drama writer who has worked on ‘Doctors’ and ‘Holby City’. Out of all of these sessions this was my favourite, as it was relaxed and free flowing whereas the other two were regimental. Plus we could speak freely in the session and it was more humorous talking from all panel speakers.

Eventually the day came to an end and after hearing a summary of the day and about coming to future summit events. Then it was time to leave before heading home, and once on the train i met to people who started talking to me (I wonder if I have a face that invites people to talk to me, is there anyone else who had a face like that?) When we started talking one of the ladies told me her son works as a Art Director, and I immediately handed her my business card and it was my last one, which made to journey home even more sweeter.

So a productive day and I have projects in the pipeline and more to come soon, very soon

Keep reading

Leave me your thoughts

