Double Delight with Light Films Ltd

25 Mar

Hi fellow mediadreamz followers and those who find themselves reading my blog, I have been busy over the past couple of weeks as many of you may read from my postings, and now there is more to come.

Before I explain about today I will provide a prologue before my interview; I had seen on Facebook an posting by Light Films Ltd about an upcoming film ‘RatCatcher’ and seeking to recruit crew for the following roles listed. I applied and a few days later I received a twitter follow from a lady called Chrissa, the Producer of light Films Ltd and I wondered had a decision been made… Answer yes; I received an email that day thanking me for applying for one of the roles and to congratulate me on being 1 of 10 people being short-listed for an interview. I was happy with the moving to the next stage and was given a interview date and time, Thursday 20th (Something that got my through my long shift at Tesco on the Wednesday).

So that morning, I travelled to Derby, and to make sure that I arrived in plenty of time, I left early to avoid any delays or roadworks (always good to arrive in plenty of time for an interview anyway). I arrived at ‘The Lawns Hotel’ and when I walked in I was at first greeted with a signed that said ‘Weight Watchers Meetings’, (strange place to have a meeting). After a few minutes I met Charlotte who explained that the team were in the process of setting up sound and camera equipment for capturing behind the scenes footage for a short film detailing everything regarding the upcoming film; ‘RatCatcher’. I was of course asked if I was comfortable with this and I said yes, which I was.

When they were ready for me, I was collected by Chris, the man behind the camera, and I was introduced to Charlotte again and to Tom, and the interview began. I admit it was an interview I really enjoyed, I felt relaxed and calm and treated it like a conversation which in fact is what it was. Tom and Charlotte explained the role I applied for, Production Assistant, and the responsibilities. I was asked what my thoughts are on social networking sites, had I worked on films in Derby before, a series of scenarios and how I would tackle them. Tom began to explain the project ‘RatCatcher’; funding, when production will likely begin the status, the films promotion at Cannes Films Festival (for those who are saying ‘Cannes’ the one and one!) and Light Films Producer Chrissa and from the way Tom and Charlotte described her she is the UK Film Industry’s version of Wonder Woman of multi-tasking (I hope I get to meet her). During the interview I talked about my experience in situations where I have planned ahead, my career aspirations and desire to taking on new and exciting challenges as well as wanting to learn additional skills (am I a not as experienced with a camera as I would like to be, and I hope to change that very soon as it was nice to learn new skills).
I also explained about my blog and radio show on radio Fox at my local hospital.

Have I got you interested in learning more? If that is a yes (which is the correct answer), then feel free to check out the trailer

See the additional works they are involved in; corporate, past productions, weddings, events and much more and a short synopsis of ‘RatCatcher’, through Light Films Ltd website.

Soon the interview came to an end, it felt like Tom, Charlotte and I had been talking for nearly an hour but it was in fact 20mins. So now it is a case of fingers crossed and waiting to see if I have been successful with the interview.

Leave me your thoughts

