RTS on the road for a summer show

29 Jun

Hi Fellow Mediadreamerz

I do have a posting to add about my experience on a really awesome film, but cannot post until I have the green light from the team. Hopefully, very soon. Until here is my latest news.

The comment Summer is mentioned loosely as the day the above mentioned event was on a miserable day. This is the third event I have been to run by the Royal Television Society, and as it was in Nottingham I thought lets go!

I made it to the venue; BBC EMT Studios and as soon as I walked through the sliding doors I saw William Gallagher, the writer and guy I met at the event in Birmingham. We had a great catch up in the reception before the speakers arrived and instructed us to follow them up to the venue. Once there more people arrived and introducing ourselves to everyone else the speakers; Jayne Greene, Isobel Clark, Stuart Hall (head of BBC EMT). I met a lady there who told me that her son’s girlfriend is currently working on a ITV Drama so I will try to track her down and contact her. I managed to mingle with others and William and I got to chat about his works, past and present, career paths and life in general. We saw how the news and weather is transmitted with the newsroom producers and editors trying to keep the news within the allocated time at lunchtime.

As there was a great spread putting on for everyone as people we starting to leave, we were advised to take stuff with us (I pinched the sparkling water and let the others who were travelling on the train to take the food). Soon we left and couldn’t get over how quickly everything had gone, and I got lots of contacts from the day and even got the name of a accommodation company to contact if I need help for places in the future regarding media work.

The cool thing is I have another networking event 19th July for BAFTA, so more news and info to come.

One last thing; Nunquam Deditionem, Never Surrender, never retreat

Leave me your thoughts

