BAFTA Brilliance with Mr. Beckett

19 Jul

Hi Mediadreamz-ers

I hope like me you have been soaking up some of this hot weather (if you are based on the fair shores of Blighty, then I guess you have, if not hope its hot where you are).

Things are slowly coming together with upcoming media productions and projects that I am looking forward to being part of, but first I will share you my day regarding the above.

Normally my saturdays are pretty boring but today was a turnaround for me: I headed to a BAFTA event at Broadway Cinema, the last time I went to one was in October where I met the director of Warp Films. I made it after getting drenched and ended up meeting some familiar faces from previous events. It was a Q&A session with a guy called Ray Beckett, a sound mixer who has worked on over 40 films some of which we were shown clips of. The session was a case of the interviewer asking an array of questions that Ray answered and in between to demonstrate the points and address certain points. The floor was opened up to us to ask questions before heading to the bar for food, drinks and networking with everyone who attended. I also got a chance to meet and chat with Ray about films, sound and opportunities and his word of wisdom of learning new skills and playing on strengths, as well as sharing stories and tales from being in the industry. Hopefully, I have made another contact in the industry and will see what happens, one thing I am doing is learning engineering in radio with another radio station I am working with.

So its streaming sporting events, working on a feature and covering an event in Leicester and much more to come. Stay tuned as they say on the radio.

Never Surrender, Never Retreat.

Leave me your thoughts

