Baton Battle Day The Grand Final

11 Aug

Well fellow Mediadreamzers readers

The day has come for the final of the world baton twirling championship, and although I missed the actual performances of the finalists because I work (through the rest of the production crew told me the best highlight moments, one of which was Keisuke Komada, of Japan scoring a perfect 10 across the board again)  I made it in time for the team event and I made sure I did not miss it. Luckily I arrived just as the last few senior men were performing their routines and then work started. The team performances from each country were spectacular, it got to the point where I tried not to blink for fear of missing anything. After the last performance from France there was a break so the judges could total up all the scores for each country and I guess for everyone to stretch their legs, and it was dying this time I was sent on a secret mission by Myra Kirk, Head of the Baton Biz, that the rest of the crew could not know about; and all was revealed 20mins later- I was instructed to go and get 7 little batons with the UK flag on as a souvenir from us all working on recording and streaming the event.

Though one thing that surprised me was the announcer for the championship did a thank you shout out the production crew- Owen Tooth- Director, David Wayman-Camera operator, Ola Meser-Camera operator, Phil Arnold-Camera operator, Brett Turner-Editor (who heard the announcement and got up and  raised his arms in the air, and I was very surpassed that they announced my name- Production runner WOW.

Soon the winners were announced for each country and to show who won I have included pictures

Junior Women Winners- 1st Japan, 2nd Japan, 3rd Japan

Junior Women Winners 2014

Junior Men Winners- 1st Japan, 2nd France, 3rd Italy

Junior Men Winners 2014

Senior Women Winners- 1st Japan, 2nd USA, 3rd Japan

Senior Women Winner 2014             Senior Women Winners

 

Senior Men Winners (though I think you can guess the winner on this one)

Winners-1st Japan, 2nd-France, 3rd-Japan

Senior Men Winners 2014

 

Junior Pairs Winners- 1st Japan, 2nd Italy, 3rd USA, 4th France

Junior Pairs Winners 2014

 

Senior Pairs Winners-1st USA, 2nd Japan, 3rd France

Senior pairs winners 2014

 

World Team Event Winners-1st France, 2nd Japan, 3rd USA

World Team Winners 2014

The country that won the World Baton Twirling Championship 2014 cup and trophy

1st Japan, 2nd France, 3rd USA

Overall Winners 2014

 

Before the championship was officially closed there were additional certificates and merits handed out to those competing for 5 years and 10 years as well as some members being given lifetime achievement awards. Then the party really got started for the athletes as I heard it was a tradition that they celebrate by dancing to great tracks- traditional song of Nottingham ‘Robin Hood’, the Macarena (and at one point I thought our director when he got up and walked round the desk was gonna go onto the floor to dance, unfortunately not), Cotton-Eye Joe, Gangnam Style and YMCA and a few other tracks. And it was a wrap for us, taking equipment apart of packing it away and doing all the usual things after a production. One thing that I got for Myra that was from all the team was a box of chocolates, that she was surprised about. One cool thing we all got was a photo was the Senior Men’s winner (courtesy of Owen’s phone)

 

photo to end all shoots on Baton Twirling

A fitting way to end the 5 days filming such a cool and breath-taking championship. Next years tournament will be in Canada and the following year will be in Sweden, I hope we are lucky enough to be chosen to go to these countries to capture it on film and stream it LIVE.

I hope I work with everyone again soon, as I had a blast and it certainly kept me fit, forget gym membership

Next on the production list is Line Producer with LightFilms, which I am looking forward to.

 

Leave me your thoughts

