How productive a week can be

11 Sep

Well, what a whirl-wind week it has been for media work and activities.

I spent Monday in a production meeting bringing the producer and director up to speed on everything I have done and what is remaining left to be completed. This was everything to sourcing locations to finding a generator, to contacting the actors, liaising with a company that hires out equipment to a million other tasks to see to and others to add to my list. God I love this business!

Tuesday was devoted to more media work, both pre-production work on the two productions I am working on, and co-presenting a radio show with another person who has more experience than me, and I will say two hours does go by really fast when your having fun, and the fun continued for me having my very first fitness class and although I was the newbie in the group no prisoners were taken so I did everything at the same intensity as everyone else and afterwards my legs felt like jelly.

Wednesday was spent at my local news station learning the art of data wrangling ( taking footage captured and adding them to the system and catalogued on editing software). I met the tech manager, Paul Magor, who allowed me to spend the day with three techno guys, before being invited to watch the news output in the gallery at lunchtime. Afterwards I was taken to the archive department to see how everything is added to the system and retrieved years down the line and the methods used to record footage. It amazes me to see that really big chunky tapes were used then it was CDs to small tapes to memory cards, how technology has certainly evolved. One thing that really surprised me I was invited to a meeting with the days news producer, the director, techno guy and editors for the days output and the East Midlands presenters for news, sports and weather. The surprise was seeing Anne Davis one of the presenters who I know really well, and after the meeting when I was in one of the editing suites Anne came to find me for a catch up chat and to see how I was and of course vice versa.

Before the news feed went out for the evening which I went into the gallery to see Paul took me to the Inside Out team, who invited me to come back in on Thursday to send the day with them to learn how they data wrangle footage they capture, log, duplicate, and using prelude software (excessive notes were taken so I did not forget anything).

Friday would have been a day working on a production in Leicester but they did not need me, however, I was asked to send a copy of my CV for future work with the production company as they are always looking for crew to work with them on productions.

And now I must resume my media work with Light Films, as there is a lot to do. One final note to fore-warn everyone that a month from today I will be writing to my hearts delight about a visit I will be making to the home of hammer horror, carry on and James Bond. Keep you eyes peeled

 

Nunquam Deditioneum- Never Surrender, Never Retreat

Leave me your thoughts

