Run Runner Run, Runner Run Run Run

25 Sep
The Poster

The Poster

Well I have certainly been doing a lot of that over the past couple of days and in between that went for an interview to a very special place in my heart; pinewood Studios for an interview for a role on a film. Here is a clue 007. Unfortunately I did not get the role I had been put forward for but at least it is a step further than last time when I applied for a production role on ‘Skyfall’. My motto ‘Never Surrender, Never Retreat’ applies here and for everything else I have been unsuccessful with, but still it is nice to visit the place I like to call my second home.

Despite the unsuccessful outcome, I am having a blast working with a production company in Derby called LightFilms on a really cool (Well I think it is) trailer for an upcoming feature to be shot in 2015. I have completed a lot of tasks so far and have managed to get results at the end of them.

The advice I will give those starting out in the industry is have contingencies places encase something unexpected happens or falls through. The work has entailed researching places that meet the necessary requirements of the director and SFX team for filming, sourcing props suitable for the characters and the background, liaising and hunting down costumes and accessories for the characters, getting call sheets finalised, calling lots and lots and LOTS of people (the phone doesn’t stop ringing, which is good).

In my case it was running around from four regions to get everything done before the day ended; finalising a location in one area, calling and collecting an essential prop from another, calling another person in another area and finally getting a prop personalised.

All of this work I have found has also caused me to have moments I consider fluxes, especially when finding props as half the things the production team will need I would assume were so far away, like down in London or Manchester but no by chance I found everything on the doorstep, more convenient I say.

I pressed on and although I had to deal with an evasive obstacle, I overcame it and got the outcome that I wanted, and everything else afterwards fell into place. Although there was nearly another a solution was found and all was right with the world, and this was near the end of the day.

I only wish that was going to be on set at the weekend for filming of the trailer, but alas I won’t be free, but I am hoping that I have done a good job with the call sheet and getting all info out the to cast and crew and hopefully will see the trailer in a few weeks after it has been shot. To date I am loving every single minute of my time I am spending with lightFilms. More info to follow shortly or at a later time, who know.

 

Nunquam Deditioneum

Leave me your thoughts

