New Year Begins-BAFTA Birmingham

31 Jan

Hi fellow Mediadreamzers

Forgive the lack of posts for the first month of the year; not much happens in January with pre-production. Which could be interpreted as a good thing as individuals can plan to go on holiday and/ find out what is coming up. I do have productions lined up for the upcoming months to keep me busy, one of which was a meeting in Birmingham Drama Village I met last year. Some of the production team I saw mentioned upcoming opportunities which I am hoping and looking forward to getting involved in, in addition to upcoming features.

Until these begin, it is networking events. My first one started off with a BAFTA Masterclass with a well renowned Cinematographer- Haris Zambarloukos. From my research, the man has worked on a great number of films, the latest being ‘Cinderella’. I admit within the research I was not sure what Cinematography was all about, and now I understand the time consuming and enormous task on such individual must do.

It was a good thing we had a huge lecture theatre as so many people attend the lecture. It of course involved questions from a BAFTA speaker, with a series of case clips from films Haris had worked on; ‘Enduring Love’, ‘Thor’ and ‘Locke’ all great films. Soon the session ended and it was everyone networking and I was glad to meet Haris after the session and seeing some people I have worked with on productions from last year, so it was good to catch up.

I know we are well into the New Year, but I have made about 4 resolutions one of which is to get experience as an assistant director and researcher which I am determined to achieve. I maybe heading to another event about Script Supervising, will know more next week, until I have plans in motion and people to contact.

Until then….
Nunquam Deditioneum

Leave me your thoughts

