3rd Up, that’s entertainment

7 Jul

Hey fellow Mediadreamzers

I guess if you are in the UK, like me, you’ll have been lapping up the sun and enjoying the fact that Summer is actually here. Getting up to 30C+ is a blue-moon moment in all honesty, quick someone say Twilight Zone. Although it has taken a turn; raining and then being humid, it is so worth it.

This turn of the tide with the weather did not hinder me getting involved with my latest freelance project and the good news ladies and gents is this time I was not a production assistant, but a 3rd AD. Small step up he ladder, but in the right direction. The production I was working on was with YSP Media, a production company I have had the honor and privilege to work with again, as it only felt like yesterday that I worked with YSP on ‘Jobseekers’. To find this post scroll through my timeline, where I spent a week working with a wonderful director- Chris Bevan, Cameraman- Karl Poyer, Assistant Director- Alex Withers, MUA- Charlotte Price (we had a good and long catch up) and a lot of brilliant people. The production is a comedy, unfortunately I cannot say anymore at present. So its a cliff hanger moment…. Hold On!

Made it to the location stated on the call sheet and I admit at first I was doubting whether or not I was in the right place. This changed when extras and other crew arrived too, especially when the director arrived. As soon as I stepped out of the car, work commenced; helping set up food and drink for crew and cast, picking up a poly board for the camera crew, supervising the runner on set and just generally being on hand to help. I was later given the task as the clapper too and holding the poly board to created more light for filming certain scenes. Time always goes by really fast when I’m working on productions, it feels like a conspiracy.

The day started out perfectly until the heavens opened up at about 2pm where it was everyone for themselves to get under shelter and protect the equipment. It did stop and filming resumed then rained again. It was a moment where you felt that the elements were against you, as soon as we were under shelter it stopped then we we came out it start to get ready to rain again. The good news was that all scenes were shot, interviews were captured and everyone was happy. It was a battle making sure all release forms were signed off as some of the extras were all over the place but I got everyone before they were needed on camera or had to go. I’ve found thinking and planning ahead are two traits to have when filming, means that the crew can focus on their jobs, saves having someone to tell you what needs doing and it cuts down on time when your gonna wrap.

The words that’s a wrap soon rung around and production for the day ended. All I can say is it was a blast being a third and I’m gonna push to do more third work and then work up the ladder.

Where my next freelance work will be in between my other media work, who knows.

Nunquam Deditioneum

Leave me your thoughts

