Memories make and mould

9 Aug

Hey again Mediadreamzers

I know its been an age or two since my last post, I have been having so much fun working with the media company I am with, in between my freelance work, (and looking at property to rent in the area) that I now have time to sit and take a deep relaxing sigh. I thought for a change I would sit and reminisce over the memories I have collected over the years thinking about the people I have worked with, and the productions I have been apart of.

One in particular came to mind, I forewarn you now this is one which, to date, I rank as the worst experience of my life. Lets just say if I organised an Oscars night the award for the worst memory would go to this one. For this post I will change the names slightly-Last year I worked on a production with a ‘company’ called McHipney productions and although I was with the for two weeks, it was the LONGEST two weeks of my life. The man in charge was called Puke, and I personally believe that he suffers from what I call the ‘Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Jack-ass syndrome; he would be nice when first meeting you and then when you got to know him he would turn into a right control freak and nothing you did was ever good enough. I initially got involved as a production assistant and was offered the role of third AD, a small step, but a step in the right direction for moving forward. I was then offered the role of 2nd and I did not want to take on a role I had no knowledge or experience in. That’s the equivalent of getting a taxi driver to fly a plane= NO EXPERIENCE. After promises that I later discovered were empty (getting help, guidance the whole bag of tricks) I foolishly accepted the role and from my very first day I was in hell. With Puke I couldn’t do anything right, when I asked for help I got insulted, belittled and had to contend with his swearing, he even had the nerve to tell me that he had fired 9 people from the production and he turned round and said to me ‘I hope your not going to be the next person I fire, are you’. Yeah, that’s one sure way of inspiring someone and not trying to intimidate them. The plus side of working on the production from hell with McHipney was meeting and working with some really talented individuals, and working with people I had worked with before. Lets just say that he could make an entire convent of nuns to drink, drugs and crime with his attitude towards people, personally he needs a crash course in people skills rather than insulting everyone to the point of being blacklisted. One point to note in the present if this guy is such a wonderful actor/ director whey has he never appeared in anything made by the BBC, ITV, SKY or is any big feature films. Answer because he is and always will be a failure.

The crunch for me came the Friday of the second week where I had serious had had enough of being treated like dirt, sworn at, called stupid in not so many words and made to think each time I went into the office ‘What I am gonna get my chest twisted over about today’. That and my time with them had come to an end. Everything went pear-shaped when Puke’s partner reduced one of the people involved to tears, and then bitched about her behind her back and then started  trashing the work we had both put in on everything that needed to be done. The final straw for me was being made to feel like I was making mistakes when I was going under the guidance of Checca. Leaving the office that afternoon I thought long and hard and thought for my own sanity I need to pull out because if I didn’t I would either turn to drugs or drink in order to survive, and believe me folks it was the best decision I ever made. The reason I am writing about an experience that happened a long time ago is because of my last media job I got to catch up with a friend of mine who filled me in on the weeks filming took place and how promises he made and broke with paying crew, letting certain people leave at times they needed to go due to other important commitments and just general bullshitting from a man who dared call himself a producer and actor two things he is not. I filed these stories away with ones I had heard from 6 other people who worked on the production and how they were treated.  He is certainly a pre-Madonna (Oscar nomination there folks).   From what I gather everyone has come away with ‘unforgettable memories’ of their time of this project and I think we will all have agreed in our own way to never work with a twat.

This walk down memory lane certainly made me stronger and taught me to never let anyone like walk all over you. I have more positive memories that will make this dark blimp disintegrate in the fires of hell. I guess this moral of the post is you may have bad experiences in life, learn from them, never let anyone take you for a fool and make sure you get something in writing to cover your ass.

Looking forward to writing my next post very soon, who knows what it will be about

Nunquam Deditioneum

Leave me your thoughts

