More Mayhem to shake you to the core

18 Oct

If you though one event was exciting then several will get you buzzing.

Well, in my case that’s what happened, every year near to Halloween at the Broadway Cinema the Mayhem Festival kicks off and although I did not go for the whole sch-bang I did enjoy the ones I chose to go to, and my all time favorite was the watching and hearing an Hammer Horror script that had NEVER been read before. The script was titled ‘The Unquenchable Thirst of Dracula’ and honestly if Christopher Lee was alive and it were the 1970’s I would strongly suggest that he play Dracula. Majority of the event was listening to a series of actors read their allocated parts and the Narrator Johnathan Rigby reading too.
The plot in short is this; Count Dracula escape to India where his evil influence is just as insidious and powerful. This script would also stand as a great horror story round a campfire for those wanting to spook one another.

It is definitely a big thank you that needs to be given to the Hammer Films and The Cinema & Television History Research Centre. Only wish that there were more Hammer Horror scripts like this, fingers crossed for the future though.

Following on from the night a sheer terror came the next master class to go to with the guest speaker being Michael Eaton, who is a English playwright and scriptwriter. He is best known for his television docudrama scripts, including Shipman, Why Lockerbie and Shoot to Kill, and for writing the feature film Fellow Traveller (1989), which won best screenplay in the British Film Awards.
In recent years, he has become known for stage plays and his radio dramas for the BBC. Listening and taking notes on the various productions he has been part of and why he go into the industry as many of us have a reason or some form of inspiration/ goal for choosing this career path. I am looking forward to hearing about his next or future works as it was inspiring to listen to someone from the region I grew up in make it in the Media. I only hope I can get as far as I want to go, only time will tell.

Well, I am getting excited about next weekend, granted I am working but as soon as I am done its a case of getting changed and driving to the second place I like to call my home. I do not wish to give too much away as I will ruin it, all to be revealed next Sunday. And yes there will be photos as it is very rare I put pictures up of my Media activities and events, I seriously need to correct that.

Nunquam Deditioneum

Leave me your thoughts

