MK Media Networking

9 Feb

Hey Mediadreamzers

Its been quiet on my side of the computer screen; was in a road collision a few weeks back and have been in the process of recovering and getting car fixed. Now back on track, and the first thing to share with you is my first networking event of the year; MKNF. This being a monthly event held for filmmakers, actors and anyone who works in Media.

When I got to the venue I thought it had been cancelled as the shutters to the doors going in were down, to only realise that the networking night was across the way in another gallery. Once inside and others had arrived it was a case of saying hi and striking up a conversation, with a few ice breakers along the way. I and others who attended took the opportunity to meet and network, I especially got to meet people I am friends with on Facebook who live in the same district/ region as me. I went prepared; a tree stump of business cards at the ready to hand out. When it got started the guy who had arranged the night noted that there were a few me people, specifically me and I had to go first in introducing myself. I asked if I should stand up and some of the guys joked/ suggested that I should stand on the bar and introduce myself, oh the wit of many and yes I did laugh at the idea.

This month’s event was a mixture of video clips covering different aspects of filmmaking, such as acting, directing and editing, all featuring professionals from the industry; specifically from BAFTA. These were delivered interviews from Idris Elba, James McAvoy, Jim Broadbent, Alfred Hitchcock, David Lynch and my favourite was from Andrew Lincoln from the ‘Walking Dead’. During Andrew’s interview he revealed how he had to change his last name, under the advice of his agent as the agent said his last name ‘sound like something out of Lord of the Rings; Clutterbuck (what a name). There was also a video clip called a Recipe for Disaster on what you need and is part and parcel of making films, which many of us can and could relate too. We cracked jokes about that; I notice there was not enough emphasis on booze, nothing on swearing or anything on smoking as it is stressful at times.

When I walked back in I felt great having met so many people who are in the same industry as me and fingers crossed I get to work with some or even all of the people that I have met tonight later down the line this year or in the foreseeable future. Well that goal/ challenge is gonna be on hold for a week as I am abroad for a break, a break abroad that I haven’t taken in, wait for it, 11 years. hopefully the people I have met face to face rather than just on Facebook and others who are not on my Facebook get the chance to work together this year or next year on upcoming productions, only time will tell.

Nunquam Deditioneum.

Leave me your thoughts

