An evening in 5 M’s

9 Mar

Evening Mediadreamzers

Still can’t gt enough of events I always seem to enjoy myself to the max, love it. This latest event was with the MKFN, sounds like a rado station name, well here is a tongue tied title to ad onto MKFN- Mycho MicroBudget Massacre MasterClass 2016. This was the title and focus of this evening Media networking. Mycho is a production company run by MJ Dixon, a local film director whose genre focus is horror thriller films. To name a few that you can find on IMDB; Slasher House, Cleaver Killer Clown, Legacy of Thorn, trailers and footage for these films were shown during presentation giving. MJ’s presentation was a mixture of his background History and the stages and processes of making a film starting from getting ideas to the final stage of distribution and showcasing the film at film festivals and the highs and lows in between. There were a few funny stories shared during the presentation on getting locations, crew not doing as they were instructed to do and something I like to call ‘life lessons’; learning from mistakes and avoiding the repeating of these mistakes down the line.

At the end there was the usual Q&A and then the socializing with other budding film makers, actors, writers, composers and all the guys in the band. I got chatting to a film maker and a producer, who I shocked by telling him my age and him thinking I was a young individual just entering into the sphere of media and film production. From this discovery he gave me his card and mentioning that he could do with someone like me on his next production project. I like him already, and I am surprised that I surprised him, but I was reassured that it was a good surprise.

Only thing I dislike about these sessions is that they end so quick, should be a rule against this, but all I can say is keep pressing forward.

Nunquam Deditioneum

Leave me your thoughts

