And the BAFTA goes to… Oh I’m so overwhelmed

27 May

Hey Mediadreamzers

P1040831

 

Well, I didn’t  per se win a BAFTA but I have seen two films that are contenders for winning the theatrical mask award. Who would have thought that I would be siting at my MAC composing my latest post at 1.15am, but I guess I am wired up from such a great night meeting new people and catching up with some familiar faces. This has what got me through my day, I initially didn’t think I was gonna get to the second place I love going to is the BAFTA House in Piccadilly again, until tonight. This was for the premiere screening of two films directed by one of my friends Sean Cronin; not only a talented director but also an actor who has been in quite a few well known films, James Bond, M:I 5 and recently Hard Tide which I still think was brilliant. Once I arrived at BAFTA House it was meeting a few people I know on FB, having a catch up chat and walking round the room before going into take a seat ready for the screenings, and it was a success as the event was sold out. And of course there are photos from the night.

P1040833  P1040835

P1040839 P1040840 P1040844 P1040846

The two films were both hard gritty action films; one called Unborn Justice and the other Jack Mulligan. Unborn Justice focuses on a Allen, an ex special forces, who goes on a weekend break with his wife Lisa to London, unaware of the surprise Lisa has for him. Lisa ends up in the wrong place at the wrong time, only for her surprise to be short lived. Allen sets out on a path of revenge to find those involved only to realise his target is a high profile organisation dealing in weapons and drugs. Determined to find his man Allen realise’s the hard way there are more hurdles to overcome before he can get to the worlds most wanted. The fight scenes definitely were choreographed to a very cool style and the ending at present is that of a cliff hanger seeing that actions speak louder than words. When Unborn justice had been screened it was a Q&A session with the cast and director, which lead nicely into the second film Jack Mulligan. Jack Mulligan within the same genre as Unborn justice, the plot is of course about the titled character, who decides to confront the man who was responsible for attacking his girlfriend. After receiving a threatening call Jack has flashbacks that paint the picture to why Jack resorts to doing what he has chosen to do. Like the first film Q&A followed which then lead to the rest of the evening to drinking, chatting to new people standing by the BAFTA statues, on the red carpet and with other people to be papped or photo bombing shots. One thing that surprised me was that during the meet, greet and chat people were asking me if I was an actress, followed by my age, the look of surprise, commenting on my dress and saying that I should be an actress, or consider going in front of the camera more. I’m guess these people were being kind to me in that sense, though some people said that my dress looked great had seen it when I walked in and were waiting to say it to me. I also got a chance to have a picture of 2 which Sean Cronin, I look forward to seeing future films from Sean and the team.

P1040852 P1040855 P1040854 P1040853 P1040859 P1040857 P1040858

P1040860 P1040861 P1040863 P1040865 P1040867 P1040868 P1040869 P1040872 P1040873 P1040874 P1040875 P1040876

It was great meeting new people and saying hi face to face with people I know on FB and actually meeting them in the flesh. One thing that ticks me about Media work and activities as I will constantly say is that time flies; what feels like 10mins equals 3 hours. I made it back home a little after 1am wide awake with throbbing feet. My guess is that I will crash like the Titanic later today (Friday), so I will be making very good friends caffeine to try to stay awake and find someway of staying awake. I need to say a thank you to Sean Cronin, and Alan Nolan on the two excellent films and how much I enjoyed meeting so many cool people and here are some pictures from the fun night. I am sitting as I type whilst my feet are throbbing from my heels, I admit I have done really well from wearing these for 5 1/2 hours before the pain start to set in, and it got to the stage where I ended up watching up and down Piccadilly Circus (Wayne’s World Quote here) in my tights in order to try and regain some feeling. I do love London at night, seeing it all lit up like a Christmas Tree. Please let there be another BAFTA screening/ premiere soon as it is always nice to visit the Capital.

P1040879 P1040878

Train home 1 Train home 2 Train home 3

Hopefully more things to share and attend in the next few weeks.

 

Nunquam Deditioneum.

Leave me your thoughts

